Age 13–Writing Challenge

My dad became very sick when I was 13. He began to lose a lot of weight and sometimes his fever would sky rocket. He became very weak and laid on the couch day in and day out. My mom couldn’t get near him to help him because he would scream at her every time she walked through the living room. He hadn’t been behaving like that for a while so we just thought it was because he was sick. I waited on him hand and foot. When his fever would get high, I would put a cool wash cloth on his face. He ate a bottle of Tylenol a day. So, after a few months of him being so sick we realized that whether he wanted to go or not, he had to go the hospital.

I was spending the night with Jennifer at her dad’s. My mom coaxed my dad into the car while I was gone promising to take him to the family doctor. Instead, she drove to the ER. He was admitted right away and placed in ICU. Ronny told me that I was spending a few more nights because my dad was in the hospital and although I was very worried, I knew that was the place he needed to be.

He was in the hospital for a very long time. When he came home, he had a lot of medicine he had to take. My mom told me he had cancer and that he didn’t have long. When I asked what kind she said it had a weird name she had never heard of. I never asked again. That was good enough for me. She told me he had 6 months to 2 years to live and I had to be strong.

I was very focused on choir. I had auditioned for the all city choir and actually been accepted. The first time my dad got out of the house was to attend my choir concert. Looking back at those pictures of that night, you can see how ill he really was.

He took his medicine every day and 6 months came and went. 2 years passed by too. He would go to the doctor a lot and everytime he would come back with a better report. Eventually, his pills were just a part of life and it wasn’t till I was 17 that I actually found out what his diagnosis was and it wasn’t any type of cancer.

About lilmommacass

I worry about the environment. I cloud gaze often. I dream of the sea. Doodler. Waitress. Nomad of sorts. River swimmer. I have a small westie named Lulu that I sleep with like a stuffed animal. And maybe one day they will say, "and who was she really anyway?"
This entry was posted in story and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

