Day 10–Writing Challenge–Age 10

I’m going to try and catch up in this challenge because I told myself I was gonna finish this and I don’t want to let myself down. I am the queen of not finishing things.

It was a hot summer day in Texas. I think it was August because school seemed to be starting soon. Jennifer had spent the night and we had pulled out the slippin slide. My dad had not gone to work for a few days because he claimed to have fiberglass in his eye. My mom was stressed to the limit about money and my dad not working was only making it worse. She came home from work that day to find the yard soaked in water from the slippin slide. Water cost money. Her and my dad began fighting right away. This was the worst fight I can remember. My dad lost his mind and threatened to take my brother to Russia so my mom could never find him–my brother actually came and told me bye with his little duffle bag. He was 5. I don’t want to tell the details of the fight but my dad physically hurt my mom that day. He kicked us out of the house, (Jennifer, my mom and I )and we dropped Jennifer off right away. When we got done dropping her off and talking to her mom, we drove past the police station. I told my mom if she didn’t go to the police, I was jumping out of the car and doing it myself. She knew I was serious and so we turned in.

I got out of the car first, there were some cops out front and I walked right up to them and told them my dad was going to kidnap my brother and had hurt my mom. When my mom came up behind me, the cops could see swelling on her neck from where his fingers had been.  They took me inside to get a sprite and talked with my mom for a good while. Then we were driving to our house with about 5 cop cars. They told us to stay far away down the street so we waited at Lupes. They arrested my father and the rest is a blur.

We didn’t know if he would find someone to post bail so my mom rented a u-haul and literally every neighbor on my street came to help us pack and load that u-haul. My grandparent’s lived an hour and half away but they were there soon enough with my uncle and everyone worked quickly. It took us no time to pack the uhaul and get on the road to my granny’s. My dad couldn’t find anyone to post bail for him and stayed in jail for 6 weeks. During that time we lived with my granny out in the country. School started and now instead of “nerd”, I was “city girl”. They put me in the fifth grade, instead of the 6th which I thought would be better but the school work was boring and very slow paced.

Eventually my dad was released and a “changed” man. My mom went for a visit and came back with him to pack us up again and move us home. We started going to NA meetings with my dad for his substance abuse problem and he began to go to church with us. I was placed back in the 6th grade and all was well again. Kinda.

 

About lilmommacass

I worry about the environment. I cloud gaze often. I dream of the sea. Doodler. Waitress. Nomad of sorts. River swimmer. I have a small westie named Lulu that I sleep with like a stuffed animal. And maybe one day they will say, "and who was she really anyway?"
This entry was posted in story and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 10–Writing Challenge–Age 10

  1. And I thought what happened to your dog was heart-rending! Girl, you are some special kind of tough cookie to go through so much and still be such a caring person. Hats off to you.

Leave a Reply

