Furthur this Sunday!

I am getting ready to go up to the bay area for a Furthur concert. I will be meeting my partners in crime there. First we have the lovely Nadia, that I have known since high school. It was Nadia that introduced me to the Grateful Dead. We drove to Texas together from Cali last Christmas and listened to the dead channel on xm pretty much the whole way. Then we drove back to Cali for the news year show in San Fran and I was hooked. Here we are getting ready to go in–

807

As many of you know it is the year of the dragon and at the show they had a huge dragon that sailed across the crowd at midnight breathing smoke and a fair maiden rode this dragon throwing flowers on people. It was awesome. Awesome is an understatement.

805

804

At this concert, I had the pleasure of meeting “Shorty”. I was the sober one so Shorty followed me like a puppy on a leash because there were so many people and he was far from sober. Or reality for that matter. It was a magical night–Shorty knew everyone it seemed and it was so much fun cruising the crowd meeting all these interesting people. Funny little fact, I later learned that he didn’t know half of the people we met that night–he had amazing people skills. He was larger than life and I am very lucky that I got to meet him but sadly, he was in a car wreck a week from the concert and was killed. This picture was taken the following day after the concert in Berkeley.

792

So needless to say Shorty will be attending this concert with us in spirit and he will be remembered forever. Another funny part about the new years concert is my friend Shawn. Shawn had never heard of the grateful dead–he is a friend of my husbands from Texas and happened to be living in California and didn’t want to spend New Years alone so we picked him up when we drove through LA. He drove up from Palm Springs and met us there–he rushed out the door and didn’t even pack a bag. He is an electronic music guru and also a DJ. He bought his ticket outside the show for a ridiculous price and I ended up losing him–(kind of on purpose) during the concert. Now I mention this detail because after the concert was over–Shawn was no where to be found and somehow had ended up several blocks away at 1242 Market street. I remember this address really well as does everyone in our group because for a good hour I drove a huge 3 quarter ton work truck through the drunken streets of San Fransico on New Years at 2AM trying to pick him up. Funny now but at the time–VERY frustrating because it was to far on foot to reach him–we tried, and the streets being one way in downtown SF were very hard to navigate because everytime the GPS lady told us to turn, the street would be blocked off due to a wreck. And Shawn, was really great about telling us the address where he was OVER AND OVER AND OVER. So yes, this address is infamous now. Here is Shawn with Shorty in Berkeley:

801

So you have Nadia, Shorty, Shawn, my husband Nick and myself and then there was Chase. Nadia has dated Chasefor a while now–few years I would say–and he has grown to be a good friend of mine. This is Chase in the middle, Shorty on the left and me on the right.

797

I have a lot of fun with Chase because he is really goofy and we just laugh all the time because as it turns out, I am goofy as well. We all are really.

As you can tell, I am super pumped for this show on Sunday and even more exicted to be joining my friends at this concert. Anyone else going cuz we will be there!

1372

About lilmommacass

I worry about the environment. I cloud gaze often. I dream of the sea. Doodler. Waitress. Nomad of sorts. River swimmer. I have a small westie named Lulu that I sleep with like a stuffed animal. And maybe one day they will say, "and who was she really anyway?"
This entry was posted in california, concert, furthur, grateful dead, san francisco, san fransico, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Furthur this Sunday!

  1. mkatehill says:

    That’s sure to be a blast! Sorry to hear about your friend. It’s crazy, all the great people you can meet through shows. Hope to read about your Furthur experience soon.

  2. Selden says:

    Love it. Glad to see that crazy girl that seemed like never left my house has grown up to be such an amazing woman. I’m proud of you. Keep doing what your doing.

Leave a Reply

