Peach Jelly Flop

I tried my hand at canning again today…this time, peach jelly. All my jars sealed this time but my jelly is not drool worthy. My sugar sank and my peaches floated 😦

IMG_0057

I think my mistake was that my fruit was not ripe enough…according to the little troubleshooting section in the back of my ball blue book, if your fruit floats it’s a sign the fruit was underripe. I have more peaches left over so I am going to wait a couple of days and try again. If anyone has additional pointers–feel free to shoot them my way!

About lilmommacass

I worry about the environment. I cloud gaze often. I dream of the sea. Doodler. Waitress. Nomad of sorts. River swimmer. I have a small westie named Lulu that I sleep with like a stuffed animal. And maybe one day they will say, "and who was she really anyway?"
This entry was posted in canning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Peach Jelly Flop

  1. Crud! I started canning last fall (with help). We have lots of blackberry bushes so I was thinking of trying to do something with them this year!

  2. Alicia says:

    Looks like you didn’t cook this nearly long enough. Do you have a canning book? I would highly recommend the Ball Blue Book. It is inexpensive, comprehensive, and the recipes are all accurate. It might be that the recipe you were using had inaccurate or vague instructions. Once you do enough canning, or read more about canning, you will be able to determine the proper gelling of your jelly. Have you tried using commercial pectin in your jelly? I find it very easy for beginner canners to ensure a properly set product.

    Reading the Ball Blue Book should also help you with tips on ensuring your jars seal, or what to do if they don’t.

    • lilmommacass says:

      Yes, the ball blue book was the book I used for the recipe and I checked the troubleshooting section in the back as well. It says based on my problem, it was because the fruit wasn’t ripe enough.

      • Alicia says:

        I guess weird things can just happen sometimes – sorry!

      • lilmommacass says:

        Oh yes, and the pectin apparently you have to be very precise on your measurements and I eyeballed my measurements like a dummy so that may also have had something to do with it. I’m gonna try again–I bought some beautiful strawberries yesterday!

  3. After several years of canning peaches I can tell you that if the peach skin came off after a quick blanching, the peaches were ripe enough.

    If peeling the peaches was quite a chore or required a knife, they were not ripe enough.

Leave a Reply

