Adventures in Canning

I canned a quart of stewed tomatoes yesterday and added cilantro instead of green peppers. Tastes pretty good from what I sampled.

IMG_0018

So the tomatoes are all canned and put away now. I have been really wanting to try pickles so I went ahead and found some recipe online that was pretty vauge for a first time pickler and what do you know–not one jar sealed. I’ve been told just to refrigerate them but I am thinking that I am going to try to salvage them. I realize that the brine was suppose to be hot which was not specified in the recipe and I also forgot to push the air bubbles out. In my ball blue book, it says if it something does not seal, correct the cause within 24 hours so that is what I intend to do. Talk about a bummer.
IMG_0024

_Dill smells amazing. I have never bought fresh dill because I never had a recipe that called for it but as I was cutting it up, mixed with the smell of the fresh garlic on my fingers—I fell in love.

IMG_0023
Something about it smells so fresh and wholesome–I really can’t put my finger on it. Just smells good to me I guess:)

About lilmommacass

I worry about the environment. I cloud gaze often. I dream of the sea. Doodler. Waitress. Nomad of sorts. River swimmer. I have a small westie named Lulu that I sleep with like a stuffed animal. And maybe one day they will say, "and who was she really anyway?"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adventures in Canning

  1. Oh no! So sorry about your pickles!

    I haven’t tried canning pickles yet, although I’ve wanted to try. I hope you’re able to get them sealed. I would love to hear how they turn out!

Leave a Reply

