Simple Life. Pioneer Life. Easy Living…

Here these past few days I have been making some big changes in this house on wheels. We have been going back to the basics. It was all inspired by a book I picked up at Barnes Noble called “Little House In the Suburbs” . If you can’t run and get it ASAP, she has a lot of the info up on her blog: http://littlehouseinthesuburbs.com
She writes as if she is talking to you and she’s witty, plus it is full of GREAT ideas!

So I have remade my household cleaners and they smell so fresh and actually put my clorox cleanup to shame. Next day I made butter–basically I just used a mixer and beat heavy whipping cream for15 mins and then added salt to taste.

When you first start mixing, the whip cream gets kind of frothy:

IMG_0009

After I guess about 7 mins–texture begins to change:
IMG_0011

Then after beating for about 15 mins, the butter and the buttermilk begin to seperate:
IMG_0014

So once this happens–you drain the milk and seperate it from the butter:
IMG_0015

Then pour cold water over the butter, drain the water off and repeat until your water is clear. After about 3 rinses with water, you smoosh extra water out of the butter and lo and behold! You have butter!
IMG_0016

I also made dried garlic flakes for cooking but will never do it again. I literally kept them in the oven at 150degrees alll day and they still aren’t compleatly dry. Here is just a pretty pic of the garlic before I skinned them and put them in the food processor.
IMG_0017

Also I have been shopping with sales ads at wal-mart (they match the price of other stores) and I was able to buy 5lbs of tomatoes for .68cents. With all those tomatoes, I stewed them with bell peppers, celery and onions and canned them! It was my first time to can but after that pop letting you know they sealed properly, I think I’m a lifer! Gonna find some cumcumbers today on sale and start the pickle process. If you don’t mind shopping at wally world, you can get some incrediably cheap food using those sales ads. I usually spend 100 without them and since using them, I spend around 70$ now and get a ton more food than before. Next, I might even start using them with coupons and save even more money. Dunno if I feel like messing with coupons though!

About lilmommacass

I worry about the environment. I cloud gaze often. I dream of the sea. Doodler. Waitress. Nomad of sorts. River swimmer. I have a small westie named Lulu that I sleep with like a stuffed animal. And maybe one day they will say, "and who was she really anyway?"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

