1800s Reenactment at Fort Sisseton

Today the women in the fiber arts guild got together for a little dress up and fiber spinning at Fort Sisseton. The fort opened up today and had sleigh rides and crafts for the family and then volunteers dressed up in 1800s attire and reenacted what it would be like in those days. The guild took our spinning wheels and spun yarn ALL DAY LONG. I am pretty tired of spinning to tell you the truth. There were lots of kiddos and they were all so intrigued how the wheels worked and they all had to kno–what are you making with the yarn? It was great. Here are some pics:

Here are the sleigh rides:
sleigh rides at fort sisseton
Here we are spinning and Marie is making rolags:
marie making rolags
Andrea spinning
DSC03283
DSC03291

And you may remember or have seen in my last post that I was thinking about over dyeing the shawl that I made my sweet mother in law…well I did it. I really like how it came out!
IMG_1294
this is how it looked before:
IMG_1289

About lilmommacass

I worry about the environment. I cloud gaze often. I dream of the sea. Doodler. Waitress. Nomad of sorts. River swimmer. I have a small westie named Lulu that I sleep with like a stuffed animal. And maybe one day they will say, "and who was she really anyway?"
This entry was posted in crafts, finished objects, FOs, knit, knitting, spinning yarn and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 1800s Reenactment at Fort Sisseton

  1. Betty says:

    Love the photos of Fort Sisseton. Looks so cozy inside. The dye blended the colors in the shawl. Nice! Betty

  2. Shay Mac says:

    Will you make clothes for our children?

  3. micamynx says:

    Love the reenactment photos. It looks like it was fun. I’d have happily spun all day (’cause that is what I usually do anyway!) The shawl is lovely. I like the overdye, nice subtle color.

  4. mildawg says:

    I am really glad you chose to overdye, and I am absolutely enamored by the reenactment photos!

  5. This looks like so much fun. I’d love to go as a drop spindler!

Leave a Reply

