cascade 220 hat and cowl

I have entered a really cool contest here on this blog and really hope I win the skein winder. Check it out!

I bought all this yarn with the idea of a helmet liner in mind or some of you may call it a baklava (probably spelled that wrong)–I found a free pattern but I have this thing about knitting hats from the top.. I hate making them from the bottom up and of course all the patterns started at the bottom. SO. I ended up making a hat and a giant cowl…you pull the cowl up, pull the hat down and low and behold! its one of those helmet liner thingys! Kinda…

I love this yarn! Its cascade 220 tweed. I have had this obsession with tweed for a while but never bought it for some reason. I would oogle at it in the yarn shops and think about all the cool things I could make with it but never bought any. Finally. My day has come! I was really torn between which color of tweed to buy but this one won in the end. Now, for those pesky matching mittens.

My friend Betty showed me this great magazine called SelvEdge. Those of you living in Europe may have heard of it–for me its a whole new world! Thanks Betty! If you like well made, inspiring visual stimulation–check it out!

Tonight I am making homemade pizza and chocolate chip cookies!

About lilmommacass

I worry about the environment. I cloud gaze often. I dream of the sea. Doodler. Waitress. Nomad of sorts. River swimmer. I have a small westie named Lulu that I sleep with like a stuffed animal. And maybe one day they will say, "and who was she really anyway?"
This entry was posted in crafts, finished objects, FOs, knit, yarn and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to cascade 220 hat and cowl

  1. mildawg says:

    That looks really warm! And the yarn is so cool.

  2. Shannon says:

    Hi, I just saw your comment on my blog post about mushroom dyeing. Thanks for dropping in. Nice hat and cowl set!
    BTW, I always ogle Selvedge at the book store, it’s cool isn’t it? I’m off to enter the contest you mentioned and check out your Etsy store too.

Leave a Reply

