top down felted cloche pattern

felted hand dyed cloche

I recently came up with a pattern for a top down felted cloche hat. I like to start my hats at the top and couldn’t find a pattern for felted cloche that started at the top…I figure I would share the pattern:

I used cascade pastaza double stranded but you can use any bulky yarn double stranded.
Size 10 dpns and size 10 circulars
Divide 4 stitches on 3 needles
Rnd 1: Knit
Rnd 2: Knit one, make one all the way around (24 stitches)
Rnd 3: knit
Rnd 4: Knit THREE, make one all the way around (30 stitches)
Rnd 5: Knit
Rnd 6: Knit four, make one all the way around
Rnd 7: Knit
Rnd 8: Knit five, make one all the way around
Rnd 9: knit
Rnd 10: Knit six, make one all the way around
Rnd 11: Knit
Rnd 12: Knit seven, make one all the way around
Rnd 13: Knit
Rnd 14:Knit eight, make one all the way around
Rnd 15: Knit
Rnd 16 Knit nine, make one all the way around
Rnd 17 knit onto circulars, pm
Knit for 8 1/2 inches from top of hat
Brim:
Knit 3, make one all the way around
knit 5 more rounds

To get this dense fiber good and felted I boil some water and add that to my water in the washing machine, put bag in zippered laundry bag and add a little dish soap and some towels. I usually have to run the hat threw a couple of times

I like to crochet flowers to attach to pins and put on my hats…that will be my next blog!

About lilmommacass

I worry about the environment. I cloud gaze often. I dream of the sea. Doodler. Waitress. Nomad of sorts. River swimmer. I have a small westie named Lulu that I sleep with like a stuffed animal. And maybe one day they will say, "and who was she really anyway?"
This entry was posted in knitting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to top down felted cloche pattern

  1. Sarah says:

    This looks perfect for a couple of quick gifts!

  2. Lisa says:

    Thanks so much for sharing your pattern! I’ve been looking for this exact shape for a hat, and top down is a plus! I will let you know how it turns out (I’m starting it today) 🙂

  3. Isabelle VIGNAND says:

    Belli, I ‘m French and I don’t understand what do you mean by “all the way round” … May you, please, explain it a little bit more ?

Leave a Reply

